24 Weeks of OCD

At 24 weeks, I now weigh about 1.5 lbs. and measure 8.5 inches long!  My baby fat is continuing to accumulate, at a rate of 6 oz. per week!  I don’t think it will be long, and Mommy will finally “pop.”  I know… I’ve been saying this for weeks, but she has to “pop” soon now that she’s almost in her 3rd trimester, right?!  She isn’t in maternity clothes yet, but she’s bought and borrowed some already so she’s all set for when she needs it.

I continue to take it easy on Mommy this week; if fact, I have been pretty easy on her throughout her entire pregnancy so far.  She still feels great and is staying active.  She continues to run/workout about 5 days per week, and has even helped Daddy mow the lawn a couple times.  I do “kick” her a lot throughout the day and at night, but that’s just me saying “I love you” and “I can’t wait to meet you.”

Mommy and Daddy continue to plan and prepare for my arrival as well (imagine that, Mommy planning!).  Daddy set up the camera in the nursery this week so now they can view my entire room from anywhere inside or outside the house.  My nursery is almost done too, although, Daddy told Mommy that she needs some pictures on the walls (just like the rest of the house).  Mama also bought me a couple more outfits this week (in gray, white, and tan (of course)), and has my closet color-coordinated using only white hangers (just like Mommy’s).  She is already teaching me how to handle OCD, which is to say don’t handle it, embrace it.

See exhibits A through D – of Mommy’s OCD

color-coded closet

  foodcloset

buttons

organization6

(Disclaimer – Images not actual evidence of Mommy’s OCD, but close to what actually occurs in the Meissner household.)

Mommy and Daddy also start their childbirth and parenting classes in the next couple of months as well.  Daddy is really excited as they are 6 week long courses, totaling 25-hours in length. They will prepare them for the stages of labor, newborn care, feeding, parenting, etc.  Essentially everything they’ll need to know before, during, and after my arrival (“Like you can learn all that in a class, pfft.” says Daddy.).  They’ll also teach Daddy about his role as the “coach” and what he needs to do to keep Mama relaxed and breathing through delivery. Daddy says he already knows what to do – Pray (Mommy doesn’t tear his head off).

Mommy and Daddy are feeling well-prepared, and are eagerly awaiting my arrival.  We all thank you for your continued prayers and I look forward to meeting all of you.

Leave a Reply

