29… and Feeling Fine

This week I’m nearly 17 inches long, coming closer to how long I’ll be at birth, and about 3 lbs. in weight!  In the next few months my weight will double (maybe even come close to tripling) by delivery time.  My wrinkled skin is also smoothing out this week as more fat is deposited under my skin surface.  This white fat, which is different than the brown fat I developed earlier for body temperature regulation, serves as an energy source… I guess that means more kicking, Mommy!

My living space is also at a premium this week so Mommy is feeling jabs and pokes from my elbows and knees constantly. Mommy says that my kicks are becoming more vigorous than before because I’m getting stronger and excitedly responding to all sorts of movement, sounds, light, and sugar… more ice cream and chocolate please Ma!

Do you know what else I’m forming this week? If you guessed teeth buds, you are right!  Pretty soon Mommy will need to get me my first baby toothbrush so I’m ready to brush my teeth when the first ones come in.  I can’t wait to join Mommy and my big brother Bruno everyday when they brush their teeth. Brushing and flossing your teeth is important all you kids and adults. Trust me, I know. Did you know that tooth decay in children is five times more common than asthma and occurs four times more often than early-childhood obesity (according to the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry)? I bet you didn’t know that did you? Man, I’m so knowledgeable for my age.

dental9_0

Last week Mommy and I also visited our doctor.  This was our last 4 week appointment as we’ll now start going every 2 weeks for 6 weeks, and then every week right before my debut!  Everything was good at this check-up as well.  Mommy’s weight gain is good, her blood pressure is low, and my heart rate is about 145.  So, thank you again for your continued prayers.  Mommy and I are doing well and feeling great!

Leave a Reply

